該頁面可以包含自動翻譯的文字。

C# 單元測試。 何必呢?

我們在Docotic.Pdf的開發過程中使用了大量的單元測試。 目前,我們有 14,638 個單元測 試。 這些測試可以幫助我們確保我們的軟體即使在更改軟體時也能如預期運作。

單元測試 C# 和 VB.NET 程式碼

有時,我們的現有或潛在客戶要求我們添加新功能或修復錯誤。 如果更改不涉及大量編碼,我們可以實施更改並 發布庫的更新版本在幾個小時內。 我們非常有信心新版本不會引入任何回歸,因為我 們在發布之前就進行了測試。 這使得我們的預發布版本可以安全地在生產環境中使用。

我們的 C# 單元測試對我們幫助很大。 我們相信單元測試是軟體開發中的重要實踐。 這就是為什麼我要更多地 討論單元測試的重要性及其好處。

C# 單元測試有什麼好處

單元測試執行速度很快,只需按一下按鈕即可運行。 他們不需要對整個系統有廣泛的了解,這使得他們可以有效 地驗證變更。 如果沒有單元測試,您將需要執行手動步驟來驗證預期行為,這可能非常耗時且容易出錯。

程式碼變更可能會引入稱為回歸缺陷的意外問題。 使用單元測試時,您可以在每次建置或程式碼變更後重新執行 整個測試套件。 這有助於及早發現缺陷,降低日後修復缺陷的成本。 編寫良好的單元測試在程式碼變更或重構 期間充當安全網。

緊密耦合的程式碼對單元測試來說是一個挑戰。 這就是為什麼編寫單元測試自然地解耦程式碼,使其更加模組化 和可維護。

單元測試可以作為程式碼的文檔。 他們可以闡明方法對於特定輸入(例如,空白字串或空值)的行為方式,並解 釋預期的輸出。

共享測試套件提供了對程式碼的共同理解。 由於明確的期望,團隊成員之間的協作得到改善。

C# 單元測試工具

要開發測試,您需要一個測試框架。 用於單元測試的三個主要 C# 測試框架是 MSTest、NUnit 和 xUnit。 選擇 哪一種取決於您的要求和品味。

MSTest是Microsoft Visual Studio提供的預設測試框架。 您不需要安裝任何其他東西來開發和執行測試。 MSTest 提供與 Visual Studio 的緊密整合。

xUnit 是一個現代的、可擴展的測試框架,以簡單易用而聞名。 有人說它有助於編寫更乾淨的測試。 xUnit 也 提供了最好的測試隔離。 一些流行的大型專案使用xUnit進行自動化測試。 ASP.NET Core 就是這樣的專案之 一。

NUnit 是一個完善的測試框架,具有豐富的功能集和廣泛的插件生態系統。 它可能比其他兩個框架慢,您需要 NUnit 3 測試適配器才能在 Visual Studio 內或命令列上執行 NUnit 3 測試。

我們使用 NUnit 進行 Docotic.Pdf 測試。 主要原因之一是我們多年前就開始為 C# PDF 庫開發測試,當時其他 替代方案更糟糕或不存在。 如果我們從今天開始,我們可能會閱讀這篇精彩的 NUnit vs. XUnit vs. MSTest文章並做出另一個選擇。

怎樣才是好的 C# 單元測驗?

測試應該運行得很快。 速度很重要,因為在一個成熟的專案中,有數千個單元測試。 盡可能快速地進行每個測 試可以減少執行所有測試所需的總時間。 這可以保持開發人員的生產力。

每個單元測試都應該專注於特定的功能。 集中測試不僅更短,而且更容易理解和維護。 開發人員可以更快掌握 重點測試的目的。 為了使其更加方便,不要忘記提供帶有名稱的測 試,這些名稱很簡短,但提供了有關測試目的的基本資訊。 測試應該包含明確的斷言。

無論環境如何,單元測試都應該產生一致的結果。 無論何時何地運行測試,它都應該始終提供相同的結果。 為 了避免測試中的不確定行為,最好不要依賴外部資料或時間。 例如,您最好不要依賴從 URL 下載的某些資料進 行測試。

使用模擬和/或存根將被測單元與外部相依性隔離。 模擬和存 根 也是 C Sharp 單元測試和其他語言中使用的工具。 模擬是方法或物件的虛假實現。 這個假實作用於在測試中模擬物 件行為的方法。 存根是方法或物件的虛擬實現,在測試中用作佔位符。

結論

對 C# 程式碼進行單元測試不僅是最佳實踐,而且是最佳實踐。 這是必要的。 透過投入時間編寫強大的單元測 試和創建全面的測試套件,開發人員可以防止回歸、提高程式碼品質並確保長期可維護性。 因此,讓我們擁抱單 元測試並建立更可靠的軟體。

聯絡我們如果您對 C Sharp 或 VB.NET 中的單元測試有疑問。 也歡迎提出有關 C# 回 歸測試的問題。

測試愉快! 🧪🔍

C# Unit Testing. Why bother?

We use a lot of unit tests in the development process of Docotic.Pdf. Currently, we have 14,635 unit tests. These tests help us stay sure our software works as expected even when we change the software.

Unit test C# and VB.NET code

Sometimes our existing or prospective customers ask us to add a new feature or fix a bug. If the change does not involve a lot of coding, we can implement the change and release an updated version of the library in a few hours. And we are very confident that the new version does not introduce any regressions because we run our tests before the release. This makes our pre-release builds safe for using in a production environment.

Our C# unit tests help us a lot. We believe that unit testing is a crucial practice in software development. That is why I am going to talk more about the significance of unit testing and its benefits.

What good can C# unit tests do

Unit tests execute quickly and can be run at the press of a button. They don't require extensive knowledge of the entire system, which makes them efficient for validating changes. Without unit tests, you would need to perform manual steps to validate expected behavior, which can be time-consuming and error-prone.

Changes to code can introduce unintended issues called regression defects. When using unit tests, you can rerun the entire test suite after every build or code change. This helps catch defects early, reducing the cost of fixing them later. Well-written unit tests act as a safety net during code changes or refactoring.

Tightly coupled code is challenging to unit test. That is why writing unit tests naturally decouples code, making it more modular and maintainable.

Unit tests can serve as documentation of the code. They can clarify how a method behaves for specific inputs (e.g., blank strings or null values) and explain the expected output.

Shared test suites provide a common understanding of the code. Collaboration among team members improves because of clear expectations.

Tools for unit testing in C#

To develop tests, you would need a testing framework. The three major C# testing frameworks for unit testing are MSTest, NUnit, and xUnit. Which one to choose depends on your requirements and taste.

MSTest is the default testing framework provided by Microsoft Visual Studio. You do not need to install anything else to develop and run tests. MSTest offers tight integration with Visual Studio.

xUnit is a modern, extensible testing framework known for simplicity and ease of use. Some say that it helps writing cleaner tests. xUnit also provides the best isolation of tests. Some popular large projects use xUnit for automated testing. ASP.NET Core is one of such projects.

NUnit is a well-established testing framework with a rich feature set and an extensive plugin ecosystem. It might be slower than the other two frameworks and you would need the NUnit 3 Test Adapter to run NUnit 3 tests inside Visual Studio or on the command line.

We use NUnit for Docotic.Pdf tests. One of the main reasons is that we started developing tests for our C# PDF library many years ago when other alternatives were worse or didn't exist. If we were starting today, we might have read the great NUnit vs. XUnit vs. MSTest article and made another choice.

What makes a good C# unit test?

Tests should run fast. Speed matters, because in a mature project, there are thousands of unit tests. Making each test as fast as possible reduces the total time required to run all the tests. This maintains developer productivity.

Each unit test should focus on a specific piece of functionality. Focused tests are not only shorter but also easier to understand and maintain. Developers can grasp the purpose of focused tests faster. To make it even more convenient, don't forget to provide tests with names that are short but give basic information about the purpose of the test. Tests should contain clear assertions.

Unit tests should produce consistent results regardless of the environment. No matter when or where you run the test, it should always provide the same result. To avoid non-deterministic behavior in tests, you better not rely on external data or time. For example, you better not make a test depend on some data downloaded from an URL.

Use mocks and/or stubs to isolate the unit under test from external dependencies. Mocks and stubs are tools used in C Sharp unit testing and in other languages, too. A mock is a fake implementation of a method or object. This fake implementation is used to simulate the method of object behavior in a test. A stub is a dummy implementation of a method or object that is used as a placeholder in a test.

Conclusion

Unit testing C# code isn't just a best practice; it's a necessity. By investing time in writing robust unit tests and creating comprehensive test suites, developers can prevent regressions, improve code quality, and ensure long-term maintainability. So, let's embrace unit testing and build more reliable software.

Contact us if you have questions about unit testing in C Sharp or VB.NET. Questions about C# regression testing are welcome too.

Happy testing! ๐Ÿงช๐Ÿ”